Bigots are Not Okay Either.

So there is a bit of an uproar around these parts after a certain church in our fair city posted a sign on their outside billboard proclaiming “Gay is not Okay.”

It’s been all over the news, all over Facebook, I’m sure it’s been on Twitter as well, although I don’t Tweet with any people in our city. 

The pastor claims that this was going to be the title of his upcoming sermon.  He states that there is a difference between saying, “Gay is not Okay,” and “Gays are not Okay.”  I think he’s covering his ass, and not very well.  The difference is slight, and I think anyone who read it can tell him that.  The sign was up for twelve hours.  To me it is the same difference between the sign saying “Black People are not Okay.”  and then changing it to say “Black Peoples are not Okay.”  It’s the same thing.  It’s the same message whether the pastor wants to believe it or not.  It is hate plain and simple, whether you change a few letters around or not. 

The response that they have gotten over the twelve hours this message was up on their billboard has been huge.  It is obvious that there are many people here who disagree with the pastor’s message, as they should in my opinion.  I hope that the pastor can see just what he has done here.  I don’t believe in threatening people, I think it’s wrong that his family has been threatened.  Maybe it will make him think next time he goes to put a message on a billboard.  Maybe he’ll realize that his church is on a highway that thousands of cars travel on every day, mine included.

Maybe he’ll realize that this was the wrong kind of message to put out there, that he hurt and offended thousands of people. 

Somehow, I don’t think he will.

 


3 Comments on “Bigots are Not Okay Either.”

  1. Holly says:

    That just makes me sad that they even remotely thought it was ok to post a sign like that.

  2. Libby says:

    That makes me furious. I don’t think Jesus would be too thrilled about it either.

  3. Jen says:

    When people who are supposed to be in positions that afford them an opportunity to teach love, acceptance and tolerance, why would they use that opportunity to spread hate? Sometimes people just suck.


I like thoughtful comments!